The Comparison Between God & Massages

I have a history of getting addicted to massage therapy. It’s amazing what you can get for free when you tell the masseur you have cerebral palsy. They get all experiment-crazy and decide they’ll be the next massage-guru to cure you. They won’t, but what the heck, it’s a blasted massage. Experiment all you want, honey.

I really didn’t think I’d get much out of a hot rock massage. I thought I’d walk away smelling like incense (not something I’m ecstatic about, I assure you), possibly have some bruises, and be able to claim that I finally took a nap. I got the smells, the bruises, but no nap. The guy talked my ear off. I’m a chatty person, but seriously, massages are meant to immediately induce naps– not keep the victim (uh, I mean client) awake with lame jokes, weird glimpses into times gone by, etc etc.

But, I digress. (Nothing new.) He really did have some good ideas. At one point, he continually put pressure on one portion of my gluteus maximus and was mumbling, “ohhhh, okaaaaay.” Guys! Typically, even if you’re prodding someone like myself who made a living out of getting poked and prodded, saying that while poking a woman’s butt?! Not. A. Good. Idea. I repeat. No.

I think I went rigid enough to make him realize he needed to start talking to the living body in front of him. He finally explained. Apparently, the tenderness and tightness in my butt (I can’t believe I just blushed typing that. Pull it together, Chick. It’s a butt. Butt. Butt. Butt. Get over it) was due to some pulled muscle in my foot, which effected my hip, which effected the muscle in my butt, and all of that threw out my back. To make it even worse all of that caused migraines. Who knew? Oooooh. Okaaaay.

I walked away amused, sarcastic, analytical and incredibly relaxed. And then my brain went into overdrive. It’s not supposed to do that on vacation.

All of my pain – according to this masseuse -was because of the “newer” pain in my foot. But the pain was felt quite clearly all the way up through my neck. Isn’t it funny that that same phenomenon occurs within the Body of Christ?

Think about it. We pass on phrases like, “I’ll laugh as you laugh” “I’ll weep when you weep” with those we fellowship with through the unity found in Christ’s gift of salvation. Yet have we ever stopped to ponder how one person’s wound, concern or heartache effects those around us? Have we ever experienced how our one “pain” can infiltrate and change an entire Church Body (not 4 walls and a roof, by the way) and how it operates?

Huh. Weird, no? Also, a completely incomplete thought because I don’t think it should ever end. But holy smokes- who knew God could show up through hot rocks and a massage bed?

Leave a Reply

