Mandatory Worship

“Mandatory worship night tonight.” I giggled. I sighed. The thought, “you know you’re at a Christian Campus when” most assuredly arose. Mandatory. The “m” word made me instantly not want to be there. The “m” word makes me cringe no matter what it’s in front of.

Mandatory Chocolate? No thanks
Mandatory pleasure? Nope…
Mandatory dating life? Ya know.. I always loved being single (this one is completely hypothetical.. I love my dating life)
Mandatory worship…? To heck with it- I don’t have to if I don’t want to.

Anyone who’s sat in a car with me longer than 10 minutes or watched me walk to work know that singing songs is something I do all the time. So why did the idea of having to worship with a huge group of my friends turn my stomach? Feasting on the Word? YES! Being with friends? Absolutely!

But dang it, don’t tell me my worship is mandatory. Mmm..no. You crazy. Leave me alone. I have stuff to do.

I went to the “brother/sister worship night”. It wasn’t bad. As a matter of fact, I was completely blessed. But still, it was mandatory and as such, I watched my watch. I’m not proud of it. Call it the American dream being pulled out in full force. I don’t have to do anything I don’t want to, it’s a free country. Mandatory?! Why???

This of course led me to a spiritually-minded “eat your food- there are starving people in Africa” self-talk. I’m dreading the freedom to worship openly because it’s mandatory. How many of my brothers and sisters whom I’ve never met would love it if singing Jesus Loves Me was mandatory? They’d die for that right. Literally.

And then the club hit me over my head once again. I was created to worship God. Revelation 4:9-11 speaks of how God’s creation of us and His creation of the Universe prove that He is worthy of praise from those He has created. Most would say it’s a privilege and it’s an obvious step. Christians that willingly follow Him joyfully sing Hallelujah.

We’re called to worship Him. It doesn’t have a time stamp. It doesn’t have an amount… But we are made by Yahweh. We’re called to worship. It’s mandatory, but it doesn’t have to be. It’s a heart thing.

Leave a Reply

