Just Another Day

I love Valentine’s Day. I love this horridly commercialized day even more when I actually have someone around in order to make the day applicable. What woman doesn’t enjoy being doted upon? What man doesn’t like steak dinner? Chocolate crosses genders… So when all else fails.. Chocolate. Unless you’re allergic to it– then you just laugh.

I’m approximately 9,000 miles away from my guy at the moment. I will be for quite some time yet, actually. So Valentine’s Day is mail ordered and picture packed. (Kind of picture packed. Actually, not really.) Regardless of what this day looks like for me, having a long distance relationship with someone I know isn’t just there for kicks got me in an analytical mood today.
Before I become a fun-sucker of Valentine’s Day, just know one thing. I love the man God has seemingly glued into my life.

I’ve learned one thing doing a serious long-distance relationship on a college campus: People either pity you or they’re confused by you. The girls have their flowers, the guys have their bragging rights and their girl’s hand to hold. Aaaand I have FaceTime (hallelujah), my man’s voice and a prayer that someday this insanity will not be an eternal habit for how we spend Valentine’s Day. It’s just another day.

Now before y’all throw mental darts at the poor man who’s turned the holiday of Hearts into “just another day”– hear me out. Long distance teaches you a lot about what love actually is.

I was going to do the typical list of what love is with reasons as to how this relationship personifies it. But seriously, I think there’s been enough of those thanks to social media. The reality is? This relationship I’m in is incredibly worth it, but it’s hard. My man has taught me much about how a relationship takes sacrifice, understanding, patience, humor and the ability to do the mundane together.
Some of the most endearing and enlightening times with him have been hour long conversations about job hunts.
Some of the most precious conversations with him have been after I’ve had a very female meltdown for no reason whatsoever. The Biblical truth of love that came out of those conversations (sadly, there’s been more than one) reminds me on a daily basis that love isn’t always touchable.

This relationship has taught me how love is a choice. How love will always be a choice. As much as I would love to say the depth of this relationship is always inspiringly deep, beautiful and fun– it’s not. There are days where when I can’t find a reason to count butterflies and write love poems, I’m still called to love him. If I can’t do that, I’m called to respect him, support him and cherish him. And he is called to the same.

Today is just another day because we’ve had to decide that commitment is an every day thing. If we had to wait for the Holiday of Hearts to decide that or show it– we’d be doing something wrong. We have fun with this day, but it’s just another day.

Leave a Reply

