Unwanted Hugs & Redefined Love

“You have gorgeous eyes. Here let me give you a hug.” As the man leaned in for a hug, I braced myself for what I expected was coming. I wasn’t threatened by him, but I sure as heck didn’t feel comfortable or respected by him. 

Hug me, Dude? Are you crazy? I mused quietly. Instinctively I found myself reminiscing of what seemed to be another life time. As a kid, I hugged everything that had a heartbeat without asking questions. Jesus? What does this man want?

“I know you from somewhere. I’m gonna give you another hug. We’re all Christians here, right? You can help me teach these people that long hugs are legit. Did I mention you have pretty eyes? Anyway, they took my kid away from me. I come here to the church to get warm. Darn, you have gorgeous eyes. We’re family, though. Can I give you another hug?”

My new “friend” and I talked for ten minutes about everything I know nothing about. Every so often he’d reach in for another hug just in time for me to remind him he was mid-sentence. He finally shrugged, squeezes my shoulder and thanked me for making him family for a day. 

As the man walked away, I grimaced over his use of the word Christian. When he used that word, I felt dread for the liberties I knew he’d take, not joyful fellowship. I felt skeptical, not blessed. I felt slightly used, not united. 

BabyGirl, it doesn’t matter what he meant to accomplish by using that title, I heard God whisper to my heart. What matters is how you live it out to prove his misconceptions wrong. 

I was reminded today what it meant to cling to the God who sees me when I feel as if no one else does. It wasn’t a reminder of security, it was a reminder that I am called to live differently. I am called to love when no one else knows how to love in that moment. 

Because I serve the God who sees me, I can love freely; I can even love purely. I can do my part to redefine love… Especially when doing so pushes me from my comfort zone. 

Leave a Reply

